Burmese Chicken Curry

burmesehead.jpgtoptea.gif

I love a curry me. This one is a favourite of the household. In fact I have been known to eat the entire pan-full in one sitting when I’m on my own. It’s quite possibly the most delicious thing you’re likely to eat in your lifetime. I make it at least once a fortnight and it freezes very well – so that I always have an emergency ration at hand should the urge take me.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:
1kg chicken thighs (quartered)
2 teaspoons hot curry powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon garam masala
4 tablespoons peanut oil
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons paprika
2 onions (chopped)
4 garlic cloves (chopped)
1 heaped teaspoon minced ginger
2 tomatoes (chopped)
1 tablespoon fish sauce
1 stick of lemongrass (cut to about 15cm and the bulb end pounded to release aroma)

DIRECTIONS:
Sprinkle curry powder, salt and garam masala over the chicken and set aside.In a blender or food processor mix onions, garlic, paprika, cayenne pepper and ginger into a thick paste.

Heat the oil in a deep pan and fry the paste over a medium heat for about 10 minutes.

Add the chicken and turn up the heat stirring for another few minutes.

Add the tomatoes and stir for a further 5 minutes.

Add 250ml of warm water (enough to cover the chicken), lemongrass and the fish sauce and bring to the boil.

Turn down the heat, partially cover the pan and gently simmer for at least 45 minutes until the chicken is very tender. Remove the lid and simmer for a further 15 minutes to reduce the sauce.

SERVING:
Basmati rice with some green beans on the side for an appearance of eating healthily.

9 Responses

  1. I love this more than my husband.

  2. […] recipes. The taste is very similar. As far as tastiness goes, it’s right up there with Burmese Chicken Curry, which is high praise […]

  3. I’d heard about the legendary Burmese Chicken Curry and it more than lived up to my expectations.
    I’m off to get some fresh lemongrass now, so I can make it for my dinner party tomorrow night.
    I’m not normally one to plonk curry in front of dinner guests – but I expect this one will be a big hit.

  4. Hey there wyhfyt!

    We made this a few nights ago and loved it, thanks for the recipe!
    http://www.weheartfood.com/2008/04/burmese-chicken-curry.html

  5. Funny you should leave a comment tonight… I just ate half a pan myself! Thanks!

  6. I love a good Burmese curry. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Can’t wait to try it.

  7. I have a Burmese grandmother who made legendary burmese curries but is sadly too old to cook now. I tried this recipe and it’s very close to what she used to make. Delicious and brought back fond memories. I’m looking forward to sharing this with other family members.

  8. I forgot to mention that my Burmese grandmother used to serve her curry with a garnish of finely chopped cucumber and onion mixed together in a dish with a dash of apple cider vinegar. The acidity really complements the curry.

Leave a comment