Berbere Spiced Pork Cutlets

pork-berbere-chops

Berbere is an Ethiopian spice mix. I’d seen it on TV recently and when I saw some in my local deli, I chucked it into the basket. Once home, I decided to make a simple spice rub on some rather expensive pork cutlets I’d bought in a moment of madness. The spice mix is a cornucopia of ingredients reminiscent of Indian curry powder. That said, It has a milder, more aromatic temperament than its Indian counterpart and it worked brilliantly on the pork. I accompanied this with a deliciously refreshing APPLE & FENNEL SALAD and CHICKPEA PATTIES, both of which worked perfectly with the meat. All in all, it was pretty refreshing – just what we needed in the sweltering 35ºC heat of a Sydney evening.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:

Pork Marinade:
2 large pork cutlets cutlets (250-300g each)
2 teaspoons berbere spice mix
1/2 lemon (juice of)
salt & pepper
2 tablespoon olive oil

DIRECTIONS:
To marinade the meat, mix all the marinade ingredients together in a plastic bag. Seal and and leave in the fridge for at least 1 hour, overnight is best.

Preheat the oven to 160ºC. Heat a griddle pan and cook the pork for 4-5 minutes per side until browned. Place the pan in the oven for 5 minutes then remove and sit for 1 minute to rest. Serve hot.

SERVING:
Serve the pork with vegetables. Or as I did with the apple and fennel salad and chickpea patties. (recipe’s to follow).

Berbere spice mix is available from speciality stores and deli’s. Try middle eastern and african stores. If you can’t find it, HERE is a recipe.

3 Responses

  1. The chick-pea patty link doesn’t work 😦

    I’ve been looking for new and interesting ways to use them, so I’m hoping you’ll give me some ideas!

    • Aaah… Apologies.

      Yes. The link is currently linking to a future post of this blog. The chickpea patties are scheduled for 5th Febraury if you can wait that long!! Sorry for the confusion.

      I work in advance with the blog. I’m currently 3 weeks ahead of myself so I didn’t realise the link was pointing nowhere!

  2. Hi ! I am a real Berber actually. My parents are from Morocco ( Rif)
    And I use to eat pork almost everyday, specially bacon.

    I like very much the pork meat and if you want to give an extra taste to those Berber pork cutlets you can use also some garlic mixed with some argan oil.

Leave a Reply

