Maduran Pork Satay

satay2

Madura is an Indonesian island just off the north eastern coast of Java. Typically of the region there are hundreds, if not thousands of recipes for satay. I settled on this one for a barbecue on a hot evening in Sydney. I marinated the pork before I went to work, so the meat was infused perfectly by the time I came to cook. How organised is that?! In my humble opinion, satay meat is the best way to cook on the barbecue. The slight hint of aniseed from the fennel works brilliantly with the pork. Moreish beyond belief.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:

900g pork (2cm cubes)
The zest of 1 lime, the juice of half.
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground fennel (or star anise)
8 tablespoons dark soy sauce
2 tablespoons raw sugar
1/4 cup peanut oil
1/4 cup spring onions (finely chopped)
1 red chilli (finely chopped)

DIRECTIONS:
Mix together in a plastic bag the pork, lime zest, lime juice, coriander, pepper, fennel, soy sauce and sugar. Seal the bag and refrigerate for at least 8 hours.

Soak some wooden skewers in water for a couple of hours, then thread 5-6 pieces of pork onto each skewer. Brush lightly with a little peanut oil.

Heat a barbecue or grill till hot. Cook the skewered meat for 3-4 minutes either side, brushing with a little more oil if necessary till scorched brown but still juicy.

Remove from the heat, rest for 1 minute then serve.

SERVING:
Serve with a peanut sauce to dip in. I must admit, I have found a great packet mix for this which I just stir some peanut butter into. It’s delicious, so if you do the same I won’t hold it against you.

One Response

  1. Yum! This is how I like my barbecue done as well! I love the flavor! do you have any recipe for the peanut sauce too? I love the pictures you have here!

Leave a Reply

