Spicy Thai Green Curry with Pork

spicythaigreencurry

Earlier in the week I’d eaten out at one of Sydney’s many Thai restaurants and had quite an explosive time. The dishes we chose were amongst some of the spiciest food I’ve ever eaten. It was at my upper limit of spice pain and I actually couldn’t finish my food! It was delicious but I was no match for it’s power!

A few nights later and I was in the mood for something spicy again. I’d been to the fabulous Sydney Markets picked up a bag of Thai chillies for next to nothing. On having a little nibble of a raw chilli to check its devilishness, my poor mouth throbbed for 1/2 hour. Knowing I wanted some heat I added 7 of them to the mix. The resulting curry was spicy, but actually not too confronting. I reckon I could have added another 4 or 5 to really give it some proper oomph.

RECIPE:

INGREDIENTS:
For the curry paste:
2 tablespoons shallots (chopped)
4 garlic cloves
1 lemon grass stalk (white part only, chopped)
7 small, hot Thai green chillies (chopped)
3 lime leaves (chopped)
1 teaspoon coriander root (chopped)
1 tablespoon coriander leaves (chopped)
1 tablespoon fresh galangal or ginger (chopped)
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon shrimp paste

Other Ingredients:
400g pork (cut into batons)
1 cup French beans (trimmed)
1 small carrot (thinly sliced)
1 cup broccoli florets
1 lime (juice of)
2 tablespoons fresh coriander (chopped)

DIRECTIONS:
To make the paste, mash everything together with a pestle & mortar until a smooth texture is formed (about 10 minutes).

To make the curry, heat the oil in a wok until very hot, add the beans, broccoli and carrot fry for 1 minute, add the meat and continue to fry for another minute, stirring constantly. Add the curry paste and stir briefly until aromatic. Then pour in the coconut milk, the fish sauce and then the sugar and bring to a vigorous boil for 4 minutes, until the pork is cooked through. Remove from the heat and stir in the lime juice just before serving.

SERVING:
Sprinkle with fresh coriander and serve alongside jasmine rice.

Leave a Reply

