Peruvain Style Baked Leeks

peruvianleeks.jpg

• Share on Facebook • Add to Del.icio.us • Digg It!

I love leeks, always have. I really wanted to make a leek suet pudding with a bunch of leeks I’d picked up at the markets at the weekend, but when I came to do it I had no idea. I thought about ringing my mother but she’s in the UK and wouldn’t have been too impressed at answering the recipe hotline at 4am. So instead I made this. I’m not sure where the Peruvian influences are but I’m not one to question a dish. It was rather delicious I must say. The mustard really adds some depth of flavour. As for the suet pudding, I’ll be sure to get the recipe at a reasonable hour and share it with you all.

RECIPE: serves 2

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 kg medium thickness leeks
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoons parmesan cheese (or strong hard cheese)
1 1/2 teaspoons mustard
pinch of cumin
salt & pepper

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat the oven to 180ºC.
Combine the butter, cheese, mustard, cumin, salt and pepper. Cut off the root of the leek and trim each from the top to a length of about 20 cm. Take the time to look for any dirt between the upper leaves, and peel off a few at the top and rinse if necessary. Bring a large pan of water to the boil and cook the leeks whole for 10 minutes until tender. Remove from the pan and drain on paper towels. In a large gratin dish, arrange the leeks in a single layer and spread over the butter mixture. Bake uncovered in the oven for 10 minutes until golden.

SERVING:
I served the leeks drizzled with some of the cooking juices alongside a gammon steak and it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

