Fish Tagine

fishtagine.jpg

I decided to have a go at a different kind of tagine tonight. It hadn’t struck me to use fish, so when I saw this recipe in the little book that accompanied my tagine I thought I’d give it a go. The book also told me that I was supposed to “season” my pan before I first used it. I hadn’t so subsequently have “greatly reduced its life span”… A tad dramatic I think. Anyway, the fish was delicious. Give it a go.

RECIPE:

Servings 4-6

INGREDIENTS:
1kg white fish fillets (I used sea bass) (skinned)
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 1/2 tablespoons cumin powder
3 medium hot chilli peppers (seeded and minced into paste)
1/2 teaspoon hot harissa paste
1/2 lemon (juice of)
5 tablespoons olive oil
6 medium potatoes (peeled and sliced)
1 tomato (chopped)
1 green capsicum (roughly chopped)
1 tomato (sliced)
1 preserved lemon (chopped)
200g green olives (pitted)
3 tablespoons fresh flat leaf parsley (chopped)
2 tablespoons fresh coriander (chopped)
500ml vegetable stock

DIRECTIONS:
Cut the fish into bitesize chunks.
Mix the garlic, cumin, ground chillies, harissa, lemon juice and salt in a bowl. Pour over about 1/2 of the mixture over the fish and carefully coat well. Set aside.
In a large lidded casserole or in a tagine, heat the oil over a medium heat. Add the rest of the spice mixture to the pan and fry for about 30 seconds, add the chopped tomato and cook for 2 minutes. Add the potatoes and cook for another minute. Now add the fish, green capsicum, sliced tomato, preserved lemon, and olives. Add the vegetable stock, and 1/2 cup water. Stir gently to a boil then put on the lid and reduce the heat to very low and cook for 1 hour stirring very carefully once in a while.

SERVING:
This is a meal in itself so serve with some fresh crusty bread and nothing else.

Leave a Reply

